top of page
  • Writer's picturefoodismythang

7 Things I've learned as a Flexitarian

Updated: Jan 31, 2019


The Hummus Duo at Sedona Taphouse

January is a special kind of month, filled with new beginnings. Many of us feel the need to reflect on the previous year and resolve to make life changes. I usually vow to eat healthier, begin running, practice yoga regularly, or something else pertaining to my personal health. This year, however, is different. For the first time, I have chosen to make a diet change to help a cause greater than just myself.


We've entered an age where the existence of climate change is not debatable - it exists, and there is scientific proof. Animal agriculture is estimated to produce the most greenhouse gases, more than the whole of the transportation industry combined actually. This is why I have decided to do my part for the environment by lowering my meat intake. Just imagine how much of an impact we could have on climate change if everyone vowed to eat meat once a day rather than three times a day!


For the majority of January, I tested out the #Flexitarian lifestyle. This is basically a semi-vegetarian diet. I have been eating meat (livestock, poultry, fish) once a day or not at all, and every Monday I observe #meatlessmonday. I realize that this is no where near as extreme as living a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle, but I must admit that I have learned a lot this month through this lifestyle.


Planning is key


My go to breakfast: Peanut butter Blueberry Oatmeal

As with any diet, planning ahead of time what you are going to eat is beneficial. For me, it was easiest to figure out what time of day I was going to eat meat, and then plan to eat vegetarian meals for the rest of that day. For the average weekday, I eat a dish with meat for dinner with my family, so I make sure to have a plant-based breakfast and lunch. On the weekends though, I let myself splurge at brunch (My favorite meal of the week), and for dinner I'll eat something light and vegetarian. There were a couple days this month that I considered special occasions, and I did consume more meat those days. I planned ahead by eating no meat the day after that event. It's not hard to achieve balance when you plan ahead as a Flexitarian!


Eating at Restaurants is easier than you think


The 7 layer burrito from Taco Bell, veganized!

Thankfully, we live in an age where eating vegetarian and vegan in restaurants is easier than ever. Whether you go to a sit-down dining restaurant or a fast-food joint, there are usually veg-friendly options on the menu. Whenever you go out to eat, it is helpful to look up menus and plan your order before you visit the restaurant (I have always done this anyway because I am a food nerd, haha). There may not be any vegetarian options listed, but nicer places are usually willing to accommodate your dietary needs. Even fast food places can have a lot of options! For example, Taco Bell's menu has millions of vegetarian options within it's menu, and even has a secret vegan menu made possible with substitutions. There are even rumors that Taco bell plans to debut it's own official vegan menu! Times are definitely changing, and it is the perfect time to consider the plant-based lifestyle.


There's so much to explore!

The Impossible Burger at Hopcat

I grew up in a household where every time my Mom buys groceries, she first asks "What meat are we having for dinner?" It's hard to abandon the meat-centered meal principle because a lot of us were raised thinking this is the only way to eat. As I have explored the flexitarian lifestyle, I have been exposed to many different sources of proteins, including chickpeas, lentils, and tofu. The meal that has fascinated me this month is the veggie burger! One of my hobbies is trying different vegetarian and vegan burgers at restaurant, in my quest to find the best one! The #impossibleburger by Impossible Foods is my favorite vegan burger so far! Flexitarianism has opened up a world of food options that I am excited to explore.


Eating more plants give you ENERGY


Vegan Cabbage Soup

I had always heard that vegetarians usually have more energy, but I didn't truly understand why until this month! When you eat more plants, you are consuming more carbohydrates. And if you took high school biology, you know that carbohydrates = energy. It is also harder for our bodies to digest animal proteins. By eating less animals your body saves the energy it would be using to digest animals! Having enough energy during the day has improved my sleep schedule tremendously, which is just another benefit to this diet!


Be mindful about what is in your food

Vegan and Vegetarian treats From Habibis Pastries

Before attempting a Flexitarian lifestyle, I didn't really think about what was in my food. I knew the ingredients, obviously, but I never thought about where they came from. I'm a Kentucky girl, and in the south, we LOVE our bacon grease. We use it to fry cornbread and make gravy for biscuits, as well as use it to flavor our veggies: soup beans, green beans, mustard greens, you name it! I used to just consider these vegetable dishes, but I now realize the way my family traditionally cooks these dishes is not at all vegetarian. Now when I eat out and try new recipes, I pay close attention to the ingredients and whether they come from an animal or a plant.


Determine what is important to you

Cream Cheese Sushi Roll from Kroger

When I made the decision to try this lifestyle, I did so on the basis of decreasing my ecological footprint. That being said, preventing waste is much more important to me than strictly not eating animals. I've been researching articles about vegetarianism and veganism, and I've read a couple that mentioned ordering dishes with meat and "throwing the meat away." If you do this, the animal has still been killed and the environmental impact has still been made. The only difference is that you have created more waste, and the animal has died for nothing. I urge you to order dishes without the meat ahead of time, and if the order is messed up, at least give the meat to your pet or an animal outside. I believe in preventing further waste and getting as much use out of what you have. I will eat meat, and when I do, I will utilize every part of my purchase. This is why I will continue to cook with bacon grease occasionally and use leftover ham bones to flavor soup. This is also why I would break my diet plan and eat meat twice a day if I think my meat leftovers will not be eaten before going bad. Reducing waste is more important to me than not eating meat at all. This may not be the case for you, and that is okay. Any attempt you make at reducing your meat intake is helpful to the environment! Figure out what matters to you the most, and support that cause to the best of your ability.


Nobody is perfect

Panda Express

As with any diet change, there are bound to be moments of weakness. There were a couple of nights where I did not follow my plan this month, and I felt really guilty. I had to remind myself that true change does not happen over night. Mistakes are going to happen along the way, and that's okay as long as I learn from them. I choose not to deny myself of any foods, I just have meat in moderation. This has only made me appreciate these resources even more. As I continue this lifestyle, I plan to eat less meat and learn more ways to reduce my ecological footprint. Still, I have to be realistic, and realize this will be a long process.


If you have any questions about flexitarianism, or have any tips and recipes you'd like to share leave a comment below!

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page